AdobeStock_41671652.jpeg

SPACE
NATURAL SENSITIVE

Ain is a department very rich in landscape diversity and remarkable natural environments. In 2021, more than 13,000 hectares were labeled “sensitive natural areas”, creating a vast network of sites representative of the natural wealth of the Ain.

The Haute Vallée de l'Ain , emblematic of the department, is identified as a remarkable natural site from an ecological, geological and landscape point of view.

Sensitive Natural Area

The Haute Vallée de l'Ain , emblematic of the department, is identified as a remarkable natural site from an ecological, geological and landscape point of view.

Sensitive Natural Area

This Sensitive Natural Area "Haute Vallée de l'Ain", labeled in July 2019, reveals many sites of interest. It is made up of a mosaic of habitats hosting a diversity of exceptional species (wetlands, dry meadows and lawns, forests and woodlands, cliffs and rocky environments).

The perimeter also includes the Cize Bolozon viaduct and the Ain loop, emblematic of the department, as well as high points appreciated for the landscapes and the panoramic views they offer: the Belvédère des Roches , the Rochers du Jardonnet , Mont Balvay , the Conflans side, the Bréchette pass. 

The dinosaur footprints site, located in Hautecourt-Romanèche, is part of the ENC. Finally, the perimeter includes the ENS of the "Grotte et reculée de Corveissiat".

It also benefits from a strong tourist dimension (reinforced by the requalification of the Chambod-Merpuis leisure center) and has many popular sites for the practice of nature sports (hiking, mountain biking, climbing, caving, canoeing, etc.).

Discovery guide : click here

Chambod-Merpuis Island: a must-see destination for green tourism

Ile Chambod-Merpuis: a must-see destination for green tourism  

The ENS "Haute Vallée de l'Ain" has a vast perimeter which includes the Ain river, over a length of more than 25 kilometers.  The Chambod Merpuis leisure center enjoys a central place in this ENS, both from a geographical and tourist point of view.  

The vast tourist requalification project of the site, led by the Joint Union for the Development and Equipment of Chambod Island (SMAE), aims to strengthen the tourist attraction of the site but also to reveal the rich landscapes and remarkable natural surroundings that surround the island, making it the gateway to the ENS “Haute Vallée de l'Ain”.  

In addition, an interpretive trail on Chambod Island allows you to discover the 10 remarkable sites of the Haute Vallée de l'Ain, while going around the island. It is signposted over a length of 2 kilometers and is accessible to people with reduced mobility (PRM) on half of the route.  

Discover Ile Chambod - Merpuis

AdobeStock_41671652.jpeg

Espace Naturel

L’Ain est un département très riche en diversité paysagère et en milieux naturels remarquables. En 2021, plus de 13 000 hectares sont labellisés « espace naturel sensible » créant un vaste réseau de sites représentatifs de la richesse naturelle de l’Ain. 

La Haute Vallée de l’Ain, emblématique du département, est identifiée comme un site naturel remarquable d’un point de vue écologique, géologique et paysager.

Espace Naturel Sensible

Cet Espace Naturel Sensible « Haute Vallée de l’Ain », labellisé en juillet 2019, révèle de nombreux sites d’intérêt. Il est constitué d’une mosaïque d’habitats accueillant une diversité d’espèces exceptionnelles (milieux humides, prairies et pelouses sèches, forêts et boisements, falaises et milieux rocheux).

Le périmètre comprend, par ailleurs, le viaduc de Cize Bolozon et la boucle de l'Ain, emblématique du département, ainsi que des points hauts appréciés pour les paysages et les vues panoramiques qu'ils offrent : le Belvédère des Roches, les Rochers du Jardonnet, le Mont Balvay, la côté de Conflans, le col de la Bréchette. 

Le site des empreintes de dinosaures, situé à Hautecourt-Romanèche, fait partie de l'ENC. Enfin le périmètre inclut l'ENS de la "Grotte et reculée de Corveissiat".

Il bénéficie également d’une forte dimension touristique (renforcée par la requalification de la base de loisirs Chambod-Merpuis) et dispose de nombreux sites prisés pour la pratique des sports de nature (randonnée pédestre, VTT, escalade, spéléologie, canoë…).

Guide découverte : cliquez-ici

L’Ile Chambod-Merpuis : destination incontournable du tourisme vert 

L’ENS « Haute Vallée de l’Ain » présente un vaste périmètre qui comprend la rivière d’Ain, sur un linéaire de plus de 25 kilomètres.  La base de loisirs Chambod Merpuis bénéficie d’une place centrale dans cet ENS, aussi bien d’un point de vue géographique que touristique. 

Le vaste projet de requalification touristique du site, porté par le Syndicat Mixte pour l’Aménagement et l’Equipement de l’île Chambod (SMAE), a pour but de renforcer l’attrait touristique du site mais également de révéler les richesses paysagères et naturelles remarquables qui entourent l’île, pour en faire la porte d’entrée de l’ENS « Haute Vallée de l’Ain ». 

En complément, un sentier d’interprétation sur l’île Chambod permet de découvrir les 10 sites remarquables de la Haute Vallée de l’Ain, tout en faisant le tour de l’île. Il est balisé sur une longueur de 2 kilomètres et est accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite (PMR) sur la moitié de l’itinéraire. 

Découvrir l'Ile Chambod - Merpuis